125th Anniversary Celebration: May 13, 2013

2013 Newberry Library Award Honorand David McCullough

Nancy Lee and Jonathan Kemper, Suzanne and Grant McCullagh, and David E. McNeel, 125th Anniversary Celebration Co-Chairs, invite you to join them to celebrate in one exceptional evening:

  • the conclusion of the Newberry’s 125th anniversary year,
  • the culmination of the $25 million Campaign for Tomorrow’s Newberry,
  • the presentation of The Newberry Library Award to historian David McCullough.

The Honorand

David McCullough has been widely acclaimed as a “master of the art of narrative history” and “a matchless writer.” He is twice winner of the Pulitzer Prize, twice winner of the National Book Award, and has received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian award.

Mr. McCullough’s most recent book, The Greater Journey: Americans in Paris, the number one New York Times best seller, has been called “dazzling,” “an epic of ideas … history to be savored.” His previous work, 1776, has been acclaimed “a classic,” while John Adams, published in 2001, remains one of the most praised and widely read American biographies. It is presently in its 82nd printing.

Mr. McCullough’s other books include The Johnstown Flood, The Great Bridge, The Path Between the Seas, Mornings on Horseback, Brave Companions, and Truman.

The Celebration

Monday, May 13, 2013
6 pm | Presentation of the Newberry Library Award to and remarks by David McCullough
7 pm | Cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in Ruggles Hall and the Lobby
8 pm | Dinner in the Regenstein and Reserve Reading Rooms

All proceeds from the 125th Anniversary Celebration will support the Campaign for Tomorrow’s Newberry and the Newberry's unrestricted endowment.

Online registration for this event is no longer available.  To make a reservation, or for more information, please contact Jo Anne Moore at (312) 255-3556 or via email at moorej@newberry.org.

To learn about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Meredith Petrov at (312) 255-3687 or via email at petrovm@newberry.org.

The Award

The Newberry Library Award, the highest honor that the Newberry bestows, recognizes achievement in the humanities in the tradition of the Newberry Library, which has cultivated the life of the mind across more than a century. In conferring the award, the Newberry honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the humanities, particularly in fields of endeavor related to the Newberry’s collection and activities. We are pleased to honor David McCullough with the 2013 award.

Recent Past Honorands
2012 | Francis C. Oakley, President Emeritus and Edward Dorr Griffin Professor of the History of Ideas at Williams College
2011 | Robert Darnton, Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor and University Librarian at Harvard
2010 | Jonathan D. Spence, Sterling Professor of History Emeritus at Yale University
2009 | William J. Cronon, Frederick Jackson Turner and Vilas Research Professor of History, Geography, and Environmental Studies at the University of Wisconsin at Madison
2008 | Anthony Grafton, Henry Putnam University Professor of History at Princeton University
2007 | Richard M. Daley, Mayor, City of Chicago
2006 | Hanna H. Gray, President Emerita, University of Chicago